Garlic Spinach Pesto Pasta

pesto pasta

My husband bought a jar of Garlic and Spinach artichoke from Bravo last night and tonight I made some for myself for dinner. I just prepared the pasta, mixed 3 spoonfuls of the pesto sauce, and voila! Also, I toasted some bread and put Spinach and Artichoke spread on top of it. Divine.

Pesto is actually quite easy to make, I’ve made some for myself several times. All you do is put basil leaves and olive oil in a blender (or chop them up like what I do), add garlic and nuts and that’s it! I used to put pan-fried chicken strips on top of my pesto pasta, but it’s just as great without them. I wanted to try Bravo’s sauces because there are times when my husband and I need a quick meal and I can’t always be available to cook. I used angelhair pasta (spaghettini #1) above, which is also my favorite kind of pasta but it’s not popular with my brothers because it looks a bit like bihon. Haha. It’s really quick-cooking, though. So if you’re in a hurry, this is one of the best things to prepare for lunch or dinner. Also, since pesto sauce doesn’t require cooking, the heat won’t kill the enzymes of the garlic and basil too quickly.

HEALTH FACTS
Did you know that basil is not just a great pasta garnish and/or ingredient? The oils that its leaves contain has antibacterial properties, especially specific bacteria that can be resistant to antibiotics. Also, it has properties that protect your cells from oxygen-based damage. Basil’s natural oils can also protect your cells from free-radicals. Basil also contains beta carotene, vitamin a, magnesium, iron, calcium, potassium, and vitamin c. There’s really a lot more, you can read up about basil here.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Felisa said,

    Oh, that looks yummilicious! I love spinach and artichoke dip… I’ve never thought of using it as a spread! And I also love angel-hair pasta. It cooks fast and because the strands are so thin, they really soak up the flavor of the pasta sauce.

    By the way, where did you get vegan pasta? Do they sell them at grocery stores in the Philippines now? Cuz as far as I know, they usually just have regular pasta… and that’s usually made with eggs.

  2. 2

    Pao-Pao said,

    you can buy them at healthy options, although they’re a bit more expensive. :-/


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

